Mass Defection From APC To APM In Ogun

  • 03,Dec 2018 11:04 PM
  • By Iwedi Ojinmah

Twenty-six lawmakers from the Ogun State House of Assembly have defected from the All Progressives Congress (APC) to the Allied Peoples Movement (APM).

Lamidi Olatunji, the spokesperson of the lawmakers, said they “have come to the inevitable conclusion to actualise their ambitions in APM”. PoliticsNGR earlier reported that all was not well for the APC in Ogun state due to the disagreement between the state governor, Ibikunle Amosun and APC chairman, Adams Oshiomhole.

The aspirants would join Adekunle Akinlade, a favoured candidate of Ibikunle Amosun, Governor of Ogun State, who had also defected to APM last week.

Akinlade had lost the APC governorship ticket to Dapo Abiodun.

Speaking on the defection of the lawmakers on Monday, Olatunji said: “We also wish to acknowledge the fatherly role of President Muhammadu Buhari in seeking to sustain the tenets of democracy, fairness, and equity in the resolution of the crisis in Ogun APC.

“We regret that Mr. President’s efforts were frustrated by the forces that are hellbent on taking the South-West back to the dark age of slavery, where unelected kingpins direct the affairs of the people.”


Leave a comment